Offered Noah Cleveland, 6-9, PF, Normal Community

isuquinndog

Administrator
Staff member
Link to the tweet just for verification purposes. Most people may not see it because he started it by mentioning ISU so it doesn't show up on people's timeliness unless you follow ISU basketball as well.

cubird

Heard this several weeks ago from one of his relatives. Maybe too much AAU ball.

Adunk33

Staff member
I started playing hockey when I was 6. It became competitive/year round thing (while playing football, basketball and baseball) probably around 8 or 9. By the time I was 15, I was burnt out and hung up the skates. Now, I don't know if Cleveland got a break from hoops via other sports or activities but burnout in youth sports can be real. Especially in today's world where parents are having kids specialize at one sport very early on.

jwa123

I started playing hockey when I was 6. It became competitive/year round thing (while playing football, basketball and baseball) probably around 8 or 9. By the time I was 15, I was burnt out and hung up the skates. Now, I don't know if Cleveland got a break from hoops via other sports or activities but burnout in youth sports can be real. Especially in today's world where parents are having kids specialize at one sport very early on.
My 3 kids, with the exception my youngest, we’re not athletic - just like me 😩. They did play sports growing up and the youngest even at the Dlll level. I insisted they play different sports because I thought it would help their overall physical development. What I was beginning to see happen and later came to full fruition with a couple coaches in that school district was those 2 coaches demanded their players only play one sport the year round. I’m too old and too far removed from youth sports now to know but how much responsibility lies with parents and/or coaches these days?

Adunk33

Staff member